Tween

Staff and Patron Recommendations


Boston Jane (series) by Jennifer L. Holm– Sixteen-year-old Jane Peck has ventured to the unknown wilds of the Northwest to wed her childhood idol, William Baldt. But her impeccable training at Miss Hepplewhite’s Young Ladies Academy in Philadelphia is hardly preparation for the colorful characters and crude life that await her in Washington Territory.
–Recommended by Rachel (Staff)

The Mysterious Benedict Society (series) by Trenton Lee Stewart– An ad attracts dozens for mind-bending tests readers may try. Only two boys and two girls succeed for a secret mission, undercover and underground into hidden tunnels. At the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, the only rule is – there are no rules.
–Recommended by Ashley (Staff)

Protector of the Small (series) by Tamora Pierce– Ten-year-old Keladry of Mindalen, daughter of nobles, serves as a page but must prove herself to the males around her if she is ever to fulfill her dream of becoming a knight.
–Recommended by Ashley (Staff)

The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate – Ivan is a gorilla that lives at the Exit 8 Big Top Mall and Video Arcade, and has grown accustomed to humans watching him through the glass walls of his domain. Instead of thinking about his old life in the jungle, he thinks about TV shows, his friends, and art. Then he meets Ruby, a baby elephant taken from her family, and she makes Ivan see their home—and his own art—through new eyes.
–Recommended by Sara (Staff)

Alex Rider (series) by Anthony Horowitz– They told him his uncle died in an accident. He wasn’t wearing his seatbelt, they said. But when fourteen-year-old Alex finds his uncle’s windshield riddled with bullet holes, he knows it was no accident. What he doesn’t know yet is that his uncle was killed while on a top-secret mission. But he is about to, and once he does, there is no turning back.
–Recommended by Rachel (Staff)

Smile by Raina Telgemeier– Raina just wants to be a normal sixth grader. But one night after Girl Scouts she trips and falls, severely injuring her two front teeth, and what follows is a long and frustrating journey with on-again, off-again braces, surgery, embarrassing headgear, and even a retainer with fake teeth attached. And on top of all that, there’s still more to deal with: a major earthquake, boy confusion, and friends who turn out to be not so friendly.
–Recommended by Ashley (Staff)

 

Teen

Staff and Patron Recommendations


Dread Nation by Justina Ireland– Jane McKeene was born two days before the dead began to walk the battlefields of Gettysburg and Chancellorsville—derailing the War Between the States and changing America forever.
–Recommended by Ashley (Staff)

One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus– The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars, One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.
–Recommended by Rachel (Staff)

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton– This novel tells the story of Ponyboy Curtis and his struggles with right and wrong in a society in which he believes that he is an outsider. The characters fit into one of two social classes: the seemingly carefree wealthy, or the struggling poor. A murder involving Ponyboy and his friend Johnny calls into question everything Ponyboy thought he knew about society and his life.
–Recommended by Sara (Staff)

Maud by Melanie J. Fishbane– Fourteen-year-old Lucy Maud Montgomery—Maud to her friends—has a dream: to go to college and, just like her idol, Louisa May Alcott, become a writer. But living with her grandparents on Prince Edward Island, she worries that this dream will never come true.
–Recommended by Rachel (Staff)

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven– When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
–Recommended by Sara (Staff)

Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley– This is a love story.
It’s the story of Howling Books, where readers write letters to strangers, to lovers, to poets. It’s the story of Henry Jones and Rachel Sweetie. They were best friends once, before Rachel moved to the sea.  Now, she’s back, working at the bookstore, grieving for her brother Cal and looking for the future in the books people love, and the words they leave behind.
–Recommended by Rachel (Staff)

Tween and Teen Book Recommendations Sites


Try out the Literature Map website if you want to find more authors similar to your favorites.

NoveList– Find just the right book by subject, age, awards won, books made into movies, and much more.

The What Should I Read Next website will help you find just that.

Check out the LitPick website for book suggestions reviewed by teens.

For a fresh and unique book list with reviews check out Reading Rants for teens.

Suggest a Title for our Collection!

If you would like this item to be put on hold for you, please provide your name and email address. Thank you!

Choose the item type below

M:  9AM - 8PM

T:   9AM - 8PM

W:  9AM - 6PM
Th: 9AM - 6PM

F:    9AM - 4PM
Sat: 9AM - 1PM

149 South Main St
Wayland, MI 49348

Phone: 269-792-2891
Fax: 269-792-0399

© 2023 by Ground Floor. Proudly created with Wix.com